Congratulations to B.C. Breakers!

B.C. Breakers. Champions of 2014 Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League Women’s National Championship

The hometown B.C. Breakers upset the defending-champion Edmonton Inferno 74-57 to seize the gold medal at the 2014 Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League (CWBL) Women’s National Championship on Sunday at the Richmond Olympic Oval in Richmond, B.C.

The championship game was an intense, back and forth battle. The Edmonton Inferno (3-1) set the early tone in the first quarter and the Breakers (4-1) responded in the second frame to emerge with a 28-26 lead at halftime. The momentum continued to alternate sides as the teams were deadlocked at 44 apiece after three quarters. B.C. ultimately pulled away in the final quarter as the Breakers attack came alive to overwhelm the Edmonton defense with clutch shooting down the stretch. The Breakers outscored the Inferno 30-13 in the final frame to seal the victory.

We played well today and that kept the game close,” said Breakers player and tournament most valuable player Janet McLachlan, of Vancouver, B.C. “We started getting a few buckets to fall in the fourth quarter that we hadn’t had earlier in the game and that helped us pull away a little bit in the end. It was a good game and they’re a great team and it was nice to win.

McLachlan was an offensive catalyst once again for the Breakers with a team-leading 33 points. Kylee Evjen, of Stony Plain, Alta., led all Inferno players with 21 points.

The victory marks the third national championship title for the Breakers.

Quebec captured the bronze medal with a 65-45 victory over the Calgary Rollers. Quebec (3-1) came out of the gate firing on all cylinders and went on an 8-0 run en route to a 22-6 lead after the opening quarter. The team from la belle province never looked back.

National team player Cindy Ouellet, of Quebec City, Que., scored a game-high 32 points for Quebec. Kendra Ohama, of Calgary, Alta., was the top point producer for the Rollers (2-3) with 14 points.

Ontario (1-3) and Saskatchewan (0-4) finished in fifth and sixth place, respectively.

Kendra Ohama (Calgary Rollers), Maude Jacques (Quebec), Amanda Yan (B.C. Breakers), Cindy Ouellet (Quebec), and Kylee Evjen (Edmonton Inferno) were named to the tournament all-star team.

We would like to thank Ron and his team for providing best basketball balls for our tournament and wish these folks the best in their business. The help Ron and his folks provided was not only material but also a true inspiration and we look forward to cooperate again.

The tournament was co-hosted by Wheelchair Basketball Canada and the BC Wheelchair Basketball Society.

Join Us for the First Annual Canadian Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Championships Banquet

You’re invited to the inaugural Canadian Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Championship banquet. Come toast the achievements of Canada’s finest female wheelchair basketball players and celebrate the sport of wheelchair basketball.

Tickets are $50 and include dinner, entertainment and the chance to meet and mingle with some of the finest wheelchair basketball players in the country.

To purchase a ticket, contact Sian Blyth at or 604-333.3531.


We’ve Come a Long Way

We’re proud to be hosting the 2014 Canadian Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Championships, so we’re taking a look back over the weeks leading up to the event by showing just how far we’ve come. We invite you to share the image with your family and friends by clicking here.

Enter Our Future Stars Contest!

Do you know a future wheelchair basketball star? Nominate her for our Future Stars program! We’re looking for girls and young women with a disability who have the qualities of a future wheelchair basketball star including:

  • Positive attitude.
  • Active (whether it’s playing a sport or just playing with friends at school).
  • Loves to learn new things.
  • Loves to work with others.

Future Stars do not have to be current wheelchair basketball players. Four lucky winners will be selected to attend the 2014 Canadian Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Championships to meet members of the national team and be recognized during a half-time or pre-game ceremony. They’ll also win a prize package with great gifts from our sponsors. (Please note that while we may be able to provide a small travel subsidy, we are not responsible for airfare, food, gas etc.)

To enter:

Email and tell us why your nominee has what it takes to be a Future Star by April 9th. Please include:

  • Name
  • Age
  • Disability
  • Why she deserves to be a Future Star in under 500 words.
  • Photo

Future Stars will be chosen by a committee of wheelchair basketball community members including Marni Abbott-Peter (multiple Paralympic gold medalist and Let’s Play program coordinator) and BCWBS Interim Managing Director Sian Blyth.